EMCR 2021 La Rochelle
30 May-4 Jun 2021


Update: In light of the COVID-19 outbreak, the conference is postponed to summer 2022.


The first EMCR conference was held in Manchester in 1982, and it has subsequently run in Toulouse (1985), Zurich (1988), Helsinki (1991), Lisbon (1994), Trento (1997), Budapest (2000), Ysermonde (2003), Dourdan (2006), Maragoggi (2012), Troia (2015) and Cambridge (2018). The 13th EMCR conference will be held in La Rochelle, France from 30 May to 4 June 2021 at La Rochelle University.

This conference has evolved into one of the leading events in corrosion electrochemistry, providing an intimate, focussed meeting. The single-session format ensures that participants do not miss significant presentations, and the social events and combination of accommodation and technical papers at a single site provides ample opportunity for informal interaction.


The Electrochemical Methods in Corrosion Research Conference is a federated organization dedicated to bringing together a significant number of diverse scholarly events for presentation within the conference program.

Events will run over a span of time during the conference depending on the number and length of the presentations.

EMCR 2021 : International Conference on Electrochemical Methods in Corrosion is the premier interdisciplinary forum for the presentation of new advances and research results in the fields of Electrochemical Methods in Corrosion. The conference will bring together leading academic scientists, researchers, and scholars in the domain of interest from around the world.


All aspects of corrosion research with an electrochemical component will be considered; topics of particular interest include:

  • Electrochemical studies at high temperature, for example in pressurised water or molten salts.
  • Scanning and microprobe techniques, including scanning probe, SECM, LEIS and techniques based on AFM technology.
  • Electrochemical studies of environmentally-assisted fracture.
  • Detection of hydrogen and studies of hydrogen interaction with metals.
  • Electrochemical impedance spectroscopy and electrochemical noise.
  • Modelling from the atom to the application.
  • Combination of electrochemical studies with complementary techniques (e.g. optical, ultrasonic, radiographic, tomographic).
  • Cathodic protection and inhibition.

Papers submitted to the meeting (both oral and poster presentations) may be submitted to a special edition of Electrochimica Acta.

If you are interested in submitting a paper to the conference, please complete the Pre-Registration form and we'll remind you when the abstract is due.


International Scientific Committee

Idalina Vieira Aoki U. São Paulo Brazil
Christopher Brett U. Coimbra Portugal
Jorge Calderon U. Antioquia Columbia
Robert Cottis U. Manchester UK
Lorenzo Fedrizzi U. Udine Italy
Joao Salvador Fernandes   IST, Lisbon Portugal
Mario G.S. Ferreira U. Aveiro Portugal
Annick Hubin VUB Belgium
Stuart Lyon U. Manchester UK
Hercilio Gomes De Melo              U. São Paulo Brazil
Oscar Mattos U. Rio de Janeiro Brazil
J.M.C. Mol TU Delft Netherlands
Fatima Montemor IST, Lisbon Portugal
Marco Musiani CNR Italy
Ramon Novoa U. Vigo Spain
Mark Orazem U. Florida U.S.A.
Nadine Pebere CNRS France
Judit Telegdi Research Centre for Natural Sciences   Hungary
Bernard Tribollet UPR15 CNRS LISE France
Vincent Vivier U. Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris France


Local Organising Committee  

(Chair) Juan Creus (juan.creus@univ-lr.fr) La Rochelle Université                     France
(Co-Chair) Marc Jeannin (marc.jeannin@univ-lr.fr) La Rochelle Université                     France
Philippe Refait La Rochelle Université                     France
René Sabot La Rochelle Université                     France
Catherine Savall La Rochelle Université                     France
Sebastien Touzain La Rochelle Université                     France
Abdelali Oudriss La Rochelle Université                     France
Xavier Feaugas La Rochelle Université                     France
Dao Trinh La Rochelle Université                     France


Online user: 1